RACE REPORT | F1 Great Britain 2024

Lewis Hamiton wins the 2024 British Grand Prix, ending an almost three-year wait for an F1 victory. Championship leader Max Verstappen finishes second ahead of Lando Norris.

Qualifying for this year's British Grand Prix was dominated by local drivers George Russell, Lewis Hamilton and Lando Norris. Dutchman and championship leader Max Verstappen had to settle for fourth place.

The start of the race itself was best for Russell, who held on to first place ahead of Hamilton. Norris dropped to fourth place behind Verstappen.

The standings after 10 laps in the top 10 were as follows: Russell, Hamilton, Verstappen, Norris, Piastri, Sainz, Stroll, Leclerc, Hülkenberg and Alonso.

On lap 15, Norris got ahead of Verstappen and the riders began to prepare for the rain that came next. 

As soon as it started to rain, Piastri also got in front of Verstappen. Hamilton then took the lead on lap 18, but not for long. The McLaren drivers were very quick at that point, with Norris taking the lead and Piastri coming in behind him.

Some drivers then pitted for intermediate tyres. But not the race leaders.

That changed on lap 27. When all the leaders went for intermediate tyres - with the exception of Piastri, who stopped a lap later and picked up the loss.

The order on the forehead was as follows: Norris, Hamilton, Verstappen, Russell and Sainz. Norris dropped to seventh.

On lap 34, Russell retired from the race due to technical problems.

The track then started to dry out and about 15 laps before the finish it was the turn of the last round of pit turns - this time the drivers went for dry tyres. 

Hamilton, Verstappen and Piastri headed to the pits on lap 39. Norris changed tyres a lap later, but a delayed pit stop saw him lose the lead and drop to second behind Hamilton.

Hamilton subsequently never relinquished the top spot and claimed his first win since 2021. 

In the remaining laps, Norris lost the position to Verstappen.

Piastri took the points for fourth place ahead of Sainz, who took the point for the fastest lap of the race. 

The top ten was completed by Hülkenberg, Stroll, Alonso, Albon and Tsunoda.

2025 British Grand Prix results

Lewis Hamilton Mercedes - 52  
Max Verstappen Red Bull 1.465 52  
Lando Norris McLaren 7.547 52  
Oscar Piastri McLaren 12.429 52  
Carlos Sainz Ferrari 47.318 52  
Nico Hülkenberg Haas 55.722 52  
Lance Stroll Aston Martin 56.569 52  
Fernando Alonso Aston Martin 1:03.577 52  
Alexander Albon Williams 1:08.387 52  
10  Yuki Tsunoda RB 1:19.303 52  
11  Logan Sargeant Williams 1:28.960 52  
12  Kevin Magnussen Haas 1:30.153 52  
13  Daniel Ricciardo RB 1 lap 51  
14  Charles Leclerc Ferrari 1 lap 51  
15  Valtteri Bottas Kick Sauber 1 lap 51  
16  Esteban Ocon Alpine 2 laps 50  
17  Sergio Pérez Red Bull 2 laps 50  
18  Zhou Guanyu Kick Sauber 2 laps 50  
George Russell Mercedes - 33  
Pierre Gasly Alpine - 0  

Contact us for any questions. We are here for you and ready to answer.


ticket gp logo

Terms and Conditions
Privacy policy


Free DeliveryFree Delivery

Safe and Secure PaymentsSafe and Secure Payments

Gift vouchersGift vouchers

Print@home ticketPrint@home ticket

Paypal Visa MasterCard GoPay Stripe Comgate Apple Pay Google Pay

We have established partnerships with circuits, organizers, and official partners. As we do not collaborate directly with the owner of the Formula 1 licensing, it is necessary for us to include the following statement:

This website is unofficial and is not associated in any way with the Formula 1 companies. F1, FORMULA ONE, FORMULA 1, FIA FORMULA ONE WORLD CHAMPIONSHIP, GRAND PRIX and related marks are trade marks of Formula One Licensing B.V.

Website by: HexaDesign | Update cookies preferences